During the plenary session, Ursula von der Leyen, President of the European Commission, presents her new Commissioners team and programme. Parliament VOTE will approve or reject the entire list of candidates proposed by the President-elect and the Council by simple majority in a roll call vote​​​​​​​. Parliament’s Conference of Presidents declared the Commissioner-designate hearings process complete on Thursday 21 November 2019.

Following the European Parliament’s consent, the Commission is also appointed by the European Council, acting by a qualified majority. MEPs will vote on the full College of Commissioners on 27th November. The legitimacy of the Commission and of its President therefore rests on the legitimacy of Parliament and the democratic election of its members.

If elected, the new European Commission will officially take up its duties on 1 December 2019.

Election of the 2019 – 2024 Commission

A vote follows the LIVE debate with MEPs.

Complete LIST HERE.

Ursula von der Leyen presents her gender-balanced list of commissioners and the distribution of portfolios st the European Parliament in Strasbourg. The new EU Commission will reflect the priorities and ambitions set out in the Political Guidelines. The Commission is structured around the objectives President-elect von der Leyen was elected on by the European Parliament.

New Commissioners 

New EU Commission 

President Ursula von der Leyen with New Commissioners

The following persons have been proposed for appointment as new Commissioners:

Mr Thierry BRETON (France)
Ms Helena DALLI (Malta)
Mr Valdis DOMBROVSKIS (Latvia)
Ms Elisa FERREIRA (Portugal)
Ms Mariya GABRIEL (Bulgaria)
Mr Paolo GENTILONI (Italy)
Mr Johannes HAHN (Austria)
Mr Phil HOGAN (Ireland)
Ms Ylva JOHANSSON (Sweden)
Ms Věra JOUROVÁ (Czech Republic)
Ms Stella KYRIAKIDES (Cyprus)
Mr Janez LENARČIČ (Slovenia)
Mr Didier REYNDERS (Belgium)
Mr Margaritis SCHINAS (Greece)
Mr Nicolas SCHMIT (Luxembourg)
Mr Maroš ŠEFČOVIČ (Slovakia)
Ms Kadri SIMSON (Estonia)
Mr Virginijus SINKEVIČIUS (Lithuania)
Ms Dubravka ŠUICA (Croatia)
Mr Frans TIMMERMANS (Netherlands)
Ms Jutta URPILAINEN (Finland)
Ms Adina VĂLEAN (Romania)
Mr Olivér VÁRHELYI (Hungary)
Ms Margrethe VESTAGER (Denmark)
Mr Janusz WOJCIECHOWSKI (Poland),

in addition to:

Mr Josep BORRELL FONTELLES (Spain), appointed High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

We will do it the European way

President Ursula von der Leyen

Ursula von der Leyen

The European Parliament elected Ursula von der Leyen as European Commission president, with 383 votes to 327, and 22 abstentions.
To convince MEPs, she had laid out plans for a European Green Deal against climate change, vowed to ensure gender parity in her college of commissioners and called for improvements to the ‘lead candidates’ system.

Over 200 million people voted in the European elections. Europe has influence. Europe wants to take responsibility for itself in the world. This is why I need your help and your support. It’s the most precious thing we have.

President Ursula von der Leyen

Es lebe Europa. Vive l’Europe. Long live Europe.

Manfred Weber, the leader of the EPP group, had said that they would be supporting her nomination. The Socialists and the Renew Europe group in the Parliament also lent her their support. But not all of the political groups supported her candidacy. Having successfully clinched the required overall majority of the votes, von der Leyen will head the European Commission for the next five years.

President Ursula von der Leyen with New Commissioners

Towards a new Commission (2019-2024)

#TeamUrsula #vdLcommission #EUstrivesformore
#eudebates #eucommission #europe


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like